The Golfbandit’s round today and a review of Wortley Golf Club


20120108-154629.jpg

Today I embarked upon my first game of 2012 and the first one since my ankle operation. After two under handicap rounds prior to the op and a handicap drop to 16 I was excited about the round this morning.

A quick hit on the range helped get me switched on. My card is below :

golfing at Wortley

The course was excellent and in fantastic condition for this time of year. One winter green was in use on the first, and it was better than some normal greens on other courses I’ve played. £25 was the cost, reasonable I thought and the staff and other golfers were all very friendly, helpful and polite.

The main positive of the round is the ankle operation doesnt seem to have had a negative impact on my game, and only began hurting after hole 12. The second positive was my putting was on fire! Yet as always with golf other parts of my game were not firing! My GIR was awful, and my FIR not much better ~ yet after two months off I am happy with 89, and but for two horrendous holes where I scored 9 and 7 I would have hit my new handicap mark again.

The course itself is a woodland course, and while it is designed to give you the chance to drive off the tee, any errors result in difficult shots through trees. There are quite a few par 3’s that are challenging and one over a ditch that is a really great hole to play. There are a couple of very tough, long par 4’s (the 9th in particular!), yet overall a fair and well laid out course. It was very enjoyable to play and one of my favourites that I have played – 4 out of 5!

I ending up winning and beating my golfing buddy Foxy (@Golfingcyclist), he wasn’t firing half as well as he can though to be fair! Yet a victory is a victory! Roll on the next round, but for all you guys reading this in the Sheffield area I would thoroughly recommend a round at Wortley, and I know we will be returning.

Leave a Reply

