Super Newbury Card…the Bandit’s tips


20120217-111323.jpg

After another couple of winners on the blog last week, things seem to be looking up. If you follow my twitter account you will have hopefully seen a good Lucky 15 posted on Sunday for Hisaabaat (15-2) and Dul Ar An Ol (12-1)! Hope you were on them.

So, as the picture shows I am looking for another blog where we have one or two who are ‘undefeated’. Lets hope so! A big well done to Newbury for re-arranging this card, surely this should be done more often? Come on BHA, take note! Doesn’t it make a nice change too that we have some great horses on show rather than dealing with the ‘sand donkeys’ and class 7 handicaps worth 50p in prize money!

Today, the Bandit goes for two Lucky 15’s.

First Lucky 15

Carlicue 3.05 Fakenham (3rd)

Has disappointed a few times over hurdles and now after a break and hopefully some schooling I just fancy him to be one of those Nichols horses that really enjoys a switch of obstacles.

Tidal Bay 12.40 Newbury (Last – I always have one, the monkey turned up today)

One of my old fav’s and a talented ‘monkey’. As Forrest Gump once said “You never know what you’re going to get”, but after a good run against Midnight Chase last time I fancy him to upset Long Run with a positive jumping round. I think if Long Run loses today it shows he hasn’t trained on, and therefore lump on Kauto Star in the Gold Cup. I must also say I think Sam Waley-Cohen has ridden him poorly his season and with him being on board = another negative for me personally.

Colour Squadron 1.50 Newbury (nb) (FELL)

I think hw has the class to beat these and should have won easily last time but for hanging badly. I expect him to come home quite comfortably.

Junior 2.25 Newbury (8th)

The current Grand National favourite. With a positive Scudamore ride I think he will win well. When ridden positively over the jumps or the flat he seems to relish and stay well. Fingers crossed!

Second Lucky 15

Cedre Bleu 2.55 Newbury (5th)

Mr Nichols has won this a few times recently and this progressive sort fits the bill. Form was boosted by Bellvano the other day and I hope he runs well. A tip top Walk On is obviously a concern, yet the McNeill twitter feed suggested he might need the run before the last engagement was postponed. So, I think he still might and he looked a little rusty last time out too!

Gevrey Chambertin 3.30 Newbury (treble) (4th)

A lot was made of his impressive debut at Ffos Las and he did win well. I’m sure he will go on again today in what looks like a hot race.

Loch Ba 2.10 Sandown (nap) (6th)

I was a little disappointed with his run last time, yet he was still staying on at the end, so this step up to 3 miles should be a positive. Better gound should help too, and he is my best bet and my #TEAMNAPS selection for today.

Desert Cry 1.15 Newbury each way (12th)

Has ran in some creditable races and took on Celestial Halo last time on ground not ideal. Better ground, a big field and a competitive race, I just have a Bandit gut feeling he may come in at a very good price!

Remember please these are my selections and I am not suggesting you take my advice. If you do, please bet within your means, and don’t blame me if they lose!

Leave a Reply

