Imperial Cup Day


20120310-101129.jpg

Last week’s selections were a nightmare, and I still can’t get over how poorly DAVE’S DREAM ran. Oh well that’s racing. Just three more sleeps to go until the greatest show on earth gets under way. I will do a blog each day for the festival and hopefully will be able to find a few winners.

The first photo today is of BABY MIX who I tipped up here on the blog a few weeks ago and is one I fancy next week at Cheltenham. The photo on the blog is courtesy of Emma-Louise who has kindly allowed me to use her fantastic photos. You can find a lot more of her work here.

So, on to today’s selections. I really love a big handicap and the Imperial Cup today is a cracker. I hope it lives up to its billing. Here are my best bets for today.

AMBION WOOD 2.05 SANDOWN (NAP) – bet suggestion is EACH WAY.(WON 14-1)

Ran an absolute cracker in a grade 2 earlier behind COTTON MILL at Warwick. The extended 3m at Haydock in heavy ground appeared not to suit. On better ground and on a shorter trip I’m hopeful of a big run. The selection has to be each way though with such a big field.

PATEESE 3.15 SANDOWN (NB) – again suggestion is EACH WAY (12th)

Won very well over course and distance in November. Has since disappointed and cost me a few of my pennies in the last three runs. He has dropped another 2lb and with a return to Sandown likely to help and a drop in trip to what seems a preferred 2m I hope we will see the Pateese from earlier. The big danger for me has to be DEVIL TO PAY.

MIA’S BOY 3.30 WOLVERHAMPTON (TREBLE) – WIN BET (3rd – 11-2)

One of my old favourites. Is still on a handy mark and has course and distance wins. Has been running creditably of late and has just not found the gaps when produced late in typical fashion. Another late charge will be on the cards under the guidance of the excellent and under rated GEORGE BAKER who I hope will find the gaps and see us home.

I am also having a few side bets as normal on the following, all WIN bets :

SONG SUNG BLUE 2.40 SANDOWN (5th)
CAPONE 2.20 WOLVERHAMPTON (6th)
FIVE STAR JUNIOR 5.15 WOLVERHAMPTON (7th)
CHERRY LADY 3.50 SANDOWN (11th)
CALUSA CALDERA 5.00 SANDOWN (Last!)

As always, these are my selections, I am no expert and do this as a hobby, so please don’t think I am telling you these will win – they probably won’t!!! If you are having a flutter, do so within your means and enjoy a great day of racing!

I leave you with another of Emma-Louise’s photos of the very game and beautiful NACARAT.

20120310-103412.jpg

Leave a Reply

