An Eagle for the Golfbandit


20120311-132234.jpg

I have just got back from playing Grassmoor Golf Course with a few pals, and the highlight of an eventful round has to be my eagle. This is my first ever and I can now tick it off as another accomplishment on the golf front.

I was really happy with my round today and am hitting the ball the best I have ever done. I shot -1 under my handicap today (+15 for the round) and this included two 7’s and a 6! One of these 7’s was on the 17th, a par 3 where I put my tee shot in some trees and then played tree tennis for a few shots.

The scorecard is here Grassmoor and the Bandit

Other eventful moments were one of my playing partners chipping in from about 40 yards through trees and I also drove the 15th green and putted for eagle again – but hey ho had to settle for birdie.

Grassmoor was a nice course, quite short and if you drive the ball well the second shot is generally with a lofted iron. There is a lot of money being spent on the course and it is being re-shaped and re-developed. In a few years time it will be excellent. Having said that I really enjoyed paying there and for £15 it’s great value. This was a little warm up match for two weeks time, where we are going to a DeVere hotel for my mate’s 40th and playing a North v South competition. After today’s rounds from us three Northerners, I reckon the Southern boys will be running scared!

I look back and reflect on my golf, I am getting better and playing pretty well. Take those 7’s and 6 into bogies and I would have shot sub 80 which would be amazing. Proves that I could do it!

Leave a Reply

