Cheltenham Day One


20120312-171901.jpg

The Festival has Arrived!!!

As I write this I feel like a young child just about to go to bed on Christmas Eve. Excitement, anticipation, overwhelming joy! What a hell of a four days we have got in store, obviously I hope to win some races and a few pennies, but to be fair I just love the spectacle!

So let’s kick things off with my selections for day one. Enjoy everybody on what is a cracking first day!

SUPREME NOVICES HURDLE

COLOUR SQUADRON ( NAP) –(unplaced) has the class to be the winner of this and has looked every much a lovely horse and a winner in the last two races. Barring a fall in the last race I’m convinced he would have won easily, and prior to that chucked the other race away by veering off after the last. I’m really confident of a positive start here, and he’s my nap of the day. Saving a bit each way however for PROSPECT WELLS (post breathing op) (5th)and DISTANT MEMORIES,(8th) both were smart flat horses and the drying ground should play into their hands.

ARKLE

MENORAH –(3rd – 10-1) Sprinter Sacre has looked one hell of a beast is year, but I’m not having odds on in an Arkle, especially when he failed up the nortorious Cheltenham hill last year. Menorah has looked nothing like the horse from last year so far, but horses for courses, and a positive word from Dicky Johnson here as one of his best rides of the week has swung it for me.

JLT SPECIALITY HANDICAP

FRUITY O’ROONEY – (treble) – each way (2nd – 16-1)

I reckon he will love the ground and even though more improvement is needed I think he will come storming up the hill. Each way only though in what appears to be a wide open race. Also tempted for a squeak each way on NOLAND (PU)to recapture some old form at a course he has a good record at.

CHAMPION HURDLE

BINOCULAR – (4th)looked impressive last time out at Wincanton and I just wonder if Nicky Henderson has got him spot on again for the big day. Hurricane Fly is obviously a tough cookie and a class horse, but again not sure about odds on! I reckon the champ will force this boy home!

CROSS COUNTRY

BALTHAZAR KING (WON – 11-2)– don’t really like these races or bet on them often, but hey its Cheltenham! Dicky Johnson was again very upbeat about his chances and he was going very well when he was taken out last time.

MARES HURDLE

TERRE DU VENT – each way (unplaced)

I have backed QUEVEGA (WON)for the past two years and I can’t see it getting beaten again. It holds no value for a meagre punter like me. So I’m opting for my selection as it ran well on its debut the other week before falling and with a bit of smart form in France, he may run into a place.

PULTENEY INVESTMENT NOVICES CHASE

MIC’S DELIGHT – (nb) (unplaced)

Nicky Henderson was very keen on TRIOLO D’ALENE’s chances at the festival preview night from the other week. However, I’m opting for my selection who has ran some crackers this year and both trainer and jockey are in great form.

Let’s hope we have a few winners, Sky Plus is set for when I get home from work! Don’t think I’ll sleep tonight! Remember these are my selections, and I’m not suggesting you follow them, and please remember to bet within your means.

Finally as Homer would say: WOOOOOOHOOOOOOO!

20120312-174108.jpg

Leave a Reply

