Saturday – The First Classic


So here we are and the first classic of the season. I’m going through one of those patches where I couldn’t pick a winner if it slapped me, although I’ve hit the crossbar a few times this week, yesterday was a nice each way selection in HONEYMEAD (9-1).
This time next week I’ll be in sunny Stratford (I hope!) getting ready for an evening meet at Warwick.
So, on to today’s tips including a nap in the big one!
POWER 1510 NEWMARKET – (nap) (unplaced) was a leading 2 y o and was just pipped in the Dewhurst. Has won on ground softer than good and this step up to a mile must suit. (4 points each way)

TEMPLE MEADS 1545 NEWMARKET – (nb) (unplaced) was a very smart sprinitng 2 y o and won here on his first start over 5f on good to soft. Been off for a season but should be fit. Chance of a place at least! (3 points each way)

TAJNEED 1925 DONCASTER – (treble) (unplaced) the handicapper has given him a sniff here and he has the ground he prefers. Hopeful of a big run. (2 points each way)

As always on a Saturday I’ll have a few more bets too. My money is also going on :
SPANISH DUKE 1400 NEWMARKET E/W (unplaced)
KIWI BAY 1630 THIRSK (unplaced)
HEARTSONG 1620 NEWMARKET (unplaced)
KALK BAY 1520 THIRSK (unplaced)
GREEN PARK 1805 THIRSK E/W (unplaced)

STAKE = 18 points

RETURNS = 0 points

BANK = + 3 points

Stats as of 5/5/12

WINS 23/127 = 18.1%
NAPS 8/43 = 18.6%
PLACED 30/127 = 23.6%
WIN OR PLACED 53/127 = 41.7%
TREBLES LANDED = 2


Remember if you are having a wager to bet within your means. These are my selections and I am not suggesting you follow my advice, I only do this for a bit of fun!

 
Leave a Reply

