Day One – York


Here we are again, with the one of the best flat racing festivals to look forward to – culminating on Saturday with The Ebor. Added to the spice this year is the greatest racehorse ever's final run, not to mention numerous high quality races and some memorable pin-sticking handicaps. I love York, such a fantastic course and always packed to the rafters with racegoers, I wish I could be there!
 
These are my selections for the first day :
 
DICKIE'S LAD 1400 York – not been running well this season and needs a dramatic return of form. However, York is a course that some horses like and some detest, this lad has finished 5th and 2nd here previously. The ever impressive Graham Lee is on board too. Each way selection.
 
EBN ARAB 1430 York – won well on debut and the form was franked by Related on Friday who ran well to beat Pythagorean. More to come from this one.
 
NOBLE MISSION 1505 York – this boy is quickly becoming one of my favourite horses with his gutsy efforts. He has got better and better as the season has progressed. I hope he can out battle Main Sequence, who seemed very unfortunate on his last run in France.
 
FRANKEL 1540 York – who else, I'm gutted this is the last time we will see this machine run. He's pure poetry in motion, a superstar, a horse of a lifetime and I'm so pleased I have been able to see him. Wonder what his progeny will be like?
 
DAZINKSKI 1615 York – I have backed him all year so I can't leave him for the race he won last year. He's only one pound higher this time around and I recKon a little rain will have helped his chances. My main worry has to br the classy hurdler COUNTRYWIDE FLAME.
 
SIR JOHN HAWKWOOD 1650 York – has gone up 6lbs for his last win. I think there is a lot more to come from this horse and the rise may not stop him. A competitve handicap with DANADANA high up on the list and one of my follow horses FORK HANDLES too. Great race.
 
Here's to a cracking day and a great festival! Enjoy!
Leave a Reply

