Royal Ascot – Saturday


Overall this week has been a disappointment for me at Royal Ascot. I am still searching for my first winner of the week! I thought MAUREEN and ES QUE LOVE ran decent races again yesterday, but how impressive was SKY LANTERN!
On a brighter not my nap yesterday GLEN COUNTESS (pictured, courtesy of @Riosrider2) won well at 8-1. Was a crazy price in my opinion all down to a McCoy gamble that failed.
On to the final day of Royal Ascot, it has been another cracking festival and if you manage to find a winner or two today you will have done well! Enjoy the day, bet within your means and I can hopefully find a winner here for us.
 
TROJAN ROCKET 1715 NEWMARKET (nap) – (unplaced) I tipped this one up last time at Warwick when he won cosily. He's never lost when Mickael Barzalia has ridden him, he's 3 from 3 on the course over 6f and has only been raised 3lbs for his last win. The ground will be fine and the jockey and trainer have a 100% strike rate when they combine at the track. Huge chance!
 
HANOVERIAN BARON 1700 ASCOT (nb) – (unplaced) ran a belter of a race behind SIR JOHN HAWKWOOD last time at York and has previously won cosily at Wolverhampton over the distance. If the horse who defeated him is now aimed at Group 2 races it reflects how good that run was and I think he can reproduce it. They were miles clear that day and I have got him at 28-1 this morning, if SIR JOHN HAWKWOOD runs well in the HARDWICKE Stakes that price will plummet.
 
NOCTURN 1625 ASCOT (treble) – (unplaced) the key to this horse chances today is if he can run in a straight line! He has a tendency to hang left and his draw may not help that today, however, cheekpieces and a top jock in Buick may help this. His win a Newmarket last time was impressive and I think he has more to offer. WHOZTHECAT franked the form when I napped it last Sunday and my selection has a cracking each way chance. I also like the chances of GLASS OFFICE (5th – 20-1) and will back that each way too. He was a classy sprinter at 2 and ran well behind PROFESSOR last time, who has since gone out and won a Listed Race at Salisbury. A reproduction of that run should see him run to a least a place.
 
MINCE 1545 ASCOT – (unplaced) what a fantastic race this is. I have backed SOCIETY ROCK for his last two wins, but I think is is too competitive and his price is too short. I opted for my selection over RODSHU QUEEN who has a similar profile in that they both had incredible season's last year but have not shown it this year. MINCE swung it for me on her course record and that she wants genuinely fast ground, the weather seems to have held off but knowing my luck it will rain all day now!
 
BUNKER 1430 ASCOT – (2nd – 11-4) this horse won well on his debut and Hughes selected him as his best chance of a winner last week, even over SKY LANTERN! The yard finally broke their Royal Duck yesterday and this is their only entry in this from a normally very powerful 2 y o yard. A very astute race goer on Twitter (Calum Madell) flagged up the chances of BERKSHIRE (WON – 16-1) on his blog yesterday and after reveiwing the race he has a fantastic chance to improve on that a run well at a massive price, I'm on him each way.
 
BANOVALLUM 1450 NEWMARKET – (unplaced) this horse has disappointed this year so far and I watched him run off the pace at Warwick when he was fancied, he then ran in a class above and performed pretty well. He drops back to Class 4 again today and could be on a decent mark for his potential.
 
BLOG STATS :

Naps 40/181 = 22.1%
Wins 163/919 = 17.7%
Placed 243/919 = 26.4%

Win and Placed = 44.2%

@Tweet_Naps overall record. Click the link. All Time Profit/Loss currently +£65.33
Leave a Reply

