Hennesey Gold Cup


One of my favourite races hits our screens tomorrow with the Hennessy Gold Cup at Newbury. Some of the horses that have won this race truely are greats, ONE MAN, SUNY BAY, TEETON MILL and of course the awesome machine that is DENMAN! Bobs Worth won it last year before his Gold Cup success. Who will it be come quarter past three on Saturday! I think I've picked the winner!
 
PRINCE DE BEAUCHENE 1500 NEWBURY (nap) – this horse will habe to produce a career best to take this and buckle trends for the race but I reckon he can! He was favourite for the Grand National last year and has always had a touch of class. Horses high in the handicap have done pretty well over recent years and he has been primed for this in my opinion. I backed him last time at Down Royal and he was always thereabouts but was never asked too much. After the race I said to my old man that they kept him off the pace for a reason, he could have challenged but never did! For me it was a pipe opener for this, he travels and jumps well and will enjoy the track. I also have to have a saver on OPENING BATSMAN who has run too bad to be true the ladt twice and 33-1 as I write this is ridiculous considering his run when beating ROLLING ACES last year.
 
VIOLIN DAVIS 1320 NEWBURY (nb) – was a smart novice last year and hasn't produced since. Dropped back to class three level here and a slight drop in trip could be all in his favour. Still on the same mark as that last win could prove to be the key, big price, big chance.
 
GASSIN GOLF 1350 NEWBURY (treble) – the trip will bring out the best in this horse tomorrow I'm convinced. He was a stayer on the flat and was pitched in at a high level on his hurdles debut. Has always been classy and this race could be his turn to shine.
 
Whatever you opt for tomorrow – enjoy the racing and good luck!
 
Leave a Reply

