2013 – The Bandit’s review


I figured as it was the last day of the year that I should look back on my blogging exploits of 2013. Firstly can I say a huge thank you for all you guys and gals that take time to read my blog every week. I really enjoy sharing my views on a sport we all love and I've really enjoyed interacting with some of you over Twitter this past year. I've been able to join #Teamchoochoo and get a share in a race horse! Cheers @ianmallard. I've also had over 11,000 views of the blog this year – awesome stuff. Another big thank you to those of you who RT the blog on Twitter.
 
So here are my blogging highlights this past year!
 
HOLYWELL

I tracked this horse all last season and knew it had a big race in it! I mentioned it as one of my strongest bets at Cheltenham of the week here. He only went and obliged at 25-1 – I napped him that day and it was great to get some responses on twitter from people who had read my piece and thought they would have a go too. Cheltenham was quite a good festival for the blog as I also had BACK IN FOCUS, LORD WINDERMERE, CHAMPAGNE FEVER, HURRICANE FLY, AT FISHERS CROSS AND BOBS WORTH that won for me. Took some money off the bookies that week.
 
OPENING BATSMAN

I napped this fella on the blog just before Cheltenham when he beat Rolling Aces at Kempton. Was great to as thr race panned out just like I thought and I also had a top treble that day with my nb IRISH SAINT and my treble horse GRANDIOSO also landing. Read the blog here
 
PACHA DU POLDER

My form was pretty hot in and around this time and I napped this horse at Newbury. It was always rated highly by Paul Nicholls but never seemed to get his ground. It did this day at romped in at 18-1. Another huge winning nap! Read the blog here
 
TIDAL BAY

I have mention this old boy! He's my favourite horse in training and what a year it has been for him, his Lexus techincally came in 2012 but what a turnaround Paul Nicholls has made with this horse! It makes you wonder what he could have achieved had he been there all his career and how poor Howard Johnson really was! His performance in the Hennessey giving Bob's Worth 6lbs and only just being beaten was ace and also what a brave fight he gave in the Welsh National just last week. He for me is already a National Hunt legend!
 
That was the end of the jumps season really except for the Aintree festival, this always seems to elude me and I never quite get the winners there! I'm still waiting for a National winner too – getting a bit like AP did before his success – just cant seem to pick the winner! Tidal Bay this year? Who knows!
 
I'm not as good on the flat with my selections as I seem to be over the jumps and to be fair I love the jumps more! The flat season revolved around these blog highlights for me
 
KINGSGATE NATIVE

An old favourite of mine and I put him up on the blog to win the Temple Stakes at Haydock and he obliged at 14-1 that day.
 
DECLAN CARROLL

Now Mr Carroll is a northern trainer I've followed for a few years and he is good to watch around York, Catterick and Beverley. Particularly with sprinters on their first or second run. Last year he sent out LASTCHANCELUCAS to win at 100-1 at York. This year I selected TWEETY PIE of his on the blog and it romped in at 66-1! Keep your eye on him, he sends a few big priced winners out every year. Read the Tweet Pie blog here
 
We of course cant forget the passing of one of the greatest horsemen of all time in Sir Henry Cecil. What a man he was – a privelege to have seen him train. We were also treated the the likes of TORONADO, DAWN APPROACH, DANK, and of course the blistering display from TREVE in the Arc.
 
It's been quite a year and I've loved every minute of it, I look forward to blogging more this year and maybe sharing a few more winners with you.
 
Leave a Reply

