Cheltenham Day Two


myWPEdit Image

myWPEdit Image





Well what a cracking first day that was. Despite only having a little wager on Holywell I was so pleased to see the little horse get up and win, I also gave a positive pointer to the second in the race too. It was a day of hitting the crossbar with TRIFOLIUM, MYTENTORYOURS and AHYAKONWYERSELF all placing. Really sad to see that Our Connor had to be put down to, such a sad sight. Thoughts go to all his connections. Lets hope there are no casualties on day two.



Neptune Investment Novices Hurdle



The race can only go one way for me, although how many times have we said that! FAUGHEEN has been nothing but impressive this year and seems to get better with every run and the more I look at the race the more I can’t see any horse beating it. David Pipe reckons RED SHERLOCK was his best chance of the week prior to day one, and he has down nothing wrong so far. I think FENNELL BAY may also run on for a place after two steady introductions from a decent flat performer. For me though its Mullins and Walsh again here.



SELECTION – FAUGHEEN (NB) (WON 6-4)

DAD’S SELECTION – FAUGHEEN (WON 6-4)



RSA Chase



This looks a really competitive race as ever. CORRIN WOOD was one I was really impressed with earlier this year, but I think the ground has seriously scuppered his chances. BLACK THUNDER at a big price could run a cracker back on ground he will prefer but there are doubts about whether he has the class for me. MORNING ASSEMBLY could be the real dark horse in the race, he has looked very good but again the ground is an unknown, if he handles it he could well take this. I’m opting for GEVREY CHAMBERTIN he really needed the run last time and just petered out tamely after putting himself in a good position. He was a smart hurdler and for me the improved ground will be the telling factor. I think he is a bit of a forgotten horse because of his last run and a few poor ones before that. With good ground forecast though I can see him running a big race at a big price.



SELECTION – GEVREY CHAMBERTIN (unplaced)

DAD’S SELECTION – MORNING ASSEMBLY (3rd – 9-1)



CORAL CUP



As always this is an ultra competitive affair and if you get get the winner of this you will have down well and have a decent priced horse. DELL ARCA seems to be one of the favourites and he has solid form, as did CLONDAW KAEMPER before some low key efforts this season, however he did seem to return to form last time out. My selection though is COTTON MILL, again something of a forgotten horse because of what was a bit of a mysterious season last year. He ran nowhere near his best and remember this guy was travelling just as well as SIMONSIG a couple of festivals ago before unseating Denis at one of the last few flights. Again for me the key here is the ground, he is a really smart mover and on good ground has a good turn of foot which is so important in the race. It’s good to see him try this distance again to, the 2m and 2m1f he’s been competing in is too short for him in my opinion. He’ll run a big race I’m sure and I can’t believe he’s 25-1 as I type this. He has run decent races behinds MYTENTORYOURS and MELODIC RENDEZVOUS and I think he is a much better horse than his current mark.



SELECTION – COTTON MILL (NAP) (unplaced)



QUEEN MOTHER CHAMPION CHASE



This is one of my favourite races of the week, class horses travelling so quickly and jumping so big and brave. What a spectacle it is. Mullins and Walsh are fancied again, but I don’t think the track will suit. CAPTAIN CONAN has the ability but I think will be found out for pace and while SIRE DE GRUGY has done nothing wrong for connections, this is the Queen Mother Champion Chase and for me he’s not good enough. My selection is HINTERLAND, I was really impressed with how he travelled and jumped last time and put him straight in my book for this race. I think he’ll fly around and take this race.



SELECTION – HINTERLAND (UR)

DAD’S SELECTION – CAPTAIN CONAN (PU)



CROSS COUNTRY CHASE



Never really bother about this race, but if I was forced to to pick one, on the forecast ground and on the back of impressive funds in similar races BALTHAZAR KING gets the vote.



SELECTION – BALTHAZAR KING (WON 4-1)

DAD’S SELECTION – BIG SHU (3rd 3-1)



FRED WINTER JUVENILE HURDLE



IVAN GROZNY was a smart performer in France and he brought that form over with him when winning a Naas. He then ran very below par last time out behind GUITAR PETE. The ground tomorrow should suit him better and I think My Wylie has another class horse on his hands here. CLARCAM interests me at a decent price and GOODWOOD MIRAGE could run a big race for the champ.



SELECTION – IVAN GROZNY (unplaced)



WEATHERBY’S CHAMPION BUMPER



Again not really a race I bet on as I don’t really get involved with bumpers. Mr Mullins has one hell of a record in this and he is mob handed here again, but I’m opting for SILVER CONCORDE (WON 16-1)to take this.



Good luck on day two!


