Cheltenham – Gold Cup Day


myWPEdit Image

Unfortunately I haven’t had a lot of time to do the blog. Had quite a bit of work to do last night so am patching something together this morning. One winner yesterday on the blog TAQUIN DE SEUIL (7-1) which takes me to win winners this week, not too bad. Whata shame it was about BIG BUCKS, I really thought he would run better than that, but hey ho let the new ones come through, and I hope he has a happy retirement,

Triumph Hurdle

My selection in this race is ROYAL IRISH HUSSAR, up until last time has done everything right including on decent ground and the way he finished at Doncaster suggests to me he will relish the Cheltenham hill. Tough race to win this though and CALIPTO looks a very good horse, and GUITAR PETE has to have a sniff after an impressive win last time.

SELECTION – ROYAL IRISH HUSSAR

DAD’S SELECTION – RUTHERGLEN



VINCENT O’BRIEN HURDLE

CINDERS AND ASHES can overcome a long absence to take this. Was a very smart horse prior to his injury and took the Supreme here very nicely, the ground has come good for him too and I expect him to have a bold show. LYVIUS has an chance too prior to his disappointing Musselburgh run and you can’t discount CHELTENIAN either.

SELECTION – CINDERS AND ASHES

DAD’S SELECTION – CHELTENIAN



ALBERT BARTLETT NOVICES HURDLE

BRIAR HILL showed his class last year in the champion bumper and has gone on from that this season with impressive victories. I think he will take all the beating here, and is a worthy favourite. On softer ground DEPUTY DAN would have a right sniff. The outsider I like is URBN HYMN who was a good wine rod a grade 2 last time.

SELECTION – BRIAR HILL



BETFRED GOLD CUP

BOBS WORTH is another worthy favourite and he showed he is back to his old form with a good victory at Leopardstown last time. The ground will suit, he’s been here before and has every chance. I thought SILVINIACO CONTI may have a chance but the ground and Nicholls’ form this week puts me off. ON HIS OWN has been supplemented for this after a smooth win at Fairyhouse, he has a bit of class about him and I would;t be surprised to see him run very well.

SELECTION – BOBS WORTH

DAD’S SELECTION – BOBS WORTH



FOXHUNTERS

Again not one I get really bothered about but have opted for PEARLYSTEPS who when on song can produce an excellent round of jumping and that will be needed here.

SELECTION – PEARLYSTEPS



MARTIN PIPE HURDLE

Tough race this and competitive as ever. My money lies on JUNCTION FOURTEEN was improving well in the season and ran some superb races before failing in the Lanzarote. He can bounce back today.THOMAS CRAPPER has good course form and could run well at a big price too.

SELECTION – JUNCTION FOURTEEN

DAD’S SELECTION – THE SKYFARMER



GRAND ANNUAL

The curtain comes down for another year and hopefully some shekels will be deposited in my account when DARE ME wins. He was so impressive last tome at Warwick and has been raised 15 lbs for it. I don;t think that will stop him, he’s on the up and should take this today in a finish with MR MOLE.

SELECTION – DARE ME

