Aintree Day One


myWPEdit Image

Aintree has come around again faster than you can say AHYAKNOWYERSELF. It should be a cracking few days and I’m even more happy as there has been and should be rain for old Tidal Bay. My each way ante post bet of 25-1 is tucked away ready! I also like the other Wylie horse PRINCE DE BEAUCHENE who has been a favourite for the race the past few years and has snuck in quietly this year under the radar! I backed him when Ruby Walsh hardly moved a muscle on him in his last race at Thurles and he’s worth a saver too. Anyway on to tomorrow!

JUVENILE HURDLE 1400

ACTIVIAL (NB) (unplaced) is my selection, he was put in his place by CALIPTO earlier in the year but was very good last time beating COMMISSIONED and the biggest plus for him is he is fresh! Cheltenham takes a lot out of horses and with him being laid out for this it may just help. I’m not sure CALIPTO would have won even without his irons slipping but its going to be a cracking race whatever.

BETFRED BOWL 1430

SILVINIACO CONTI (NAP) (WON 9-4) has the class in the race and I’m sure if he would have been taken left with the others in the Gold Cup he may have prevailed. Whilst DYNASTE was impressive at the festival I think my selection will have too much and I still think he stays this trip. Lump on!

DOOM BAR AINTREE HURDLE 1505

ROCK ON RUBY (2nd – 10-1) is the horse who will take this returned to hurdles. Doom Bar is one of my favourite ales, and ROCK ON RUBY is one of my favourite horses too. A good match, I’m not worried about his return to hurdles as he has always been class in that sphere and despite his huge blunder at Cheltenham he was looked after once that had happened and he may take this.

FOX HUNTER CHASE

PENTIFFIC (unplaced) is my selection in a race I know not a lot about.

RED RUM HANDICAP

KINGS GREY (unplaced) takes my eye here, her has ran well here in the past and has dropped to his last winning mark. Must run well.

MANIFESTO NOVICES CHASE

OSCAR WHISKY (2nd – 7-4) is the one for me here in what looks like a cracking renewal and early faller last time but he has solid form before that.

DOMINICAN REPUBLIC HURDLE

UNCLE JIMMY (TREBLE) (unplaced) was one of my best bets at the festival and he was getting into the race before making a huge blunder two out. He may not have got anywhere near as he was too far off the pace earlier in the race. He’s still on what I think is a reasonable mark of 140 and he should run another good race.

