The Grand National


myWPEdit Image

The big race day has arrived! First and foremost lets hoe these wonderful creatures all get round safely. Secondly lets enjoy the spectacle! A decent couple of runs on the blog yesterday with HOLYWELL winning for me again. What a horse he is proving to be and now favourite for the Gold Cup!!! My nap also ran a cracker, ROLLING ACES (16-1) was just pipped after running a corker and showing his true form. How impressive was MA FILLEULLE too, I thought she might run a decent race as I said on the blog, but she;s a brave one and oozing a bit of class! On to today, my Dad has a few selections as always and you can see our latest results below. He will be reading this in his hospital bed after having a knee replacement surgery! Hope you’re doing well Dad x

TIDAL BAY 1615 AINTREE (NAP) – (UR = -£5.00) I’m sure if you’ve read my blog a lot you will know how much I love this horse! If he wins today it will most certainly bring down the curtain on a fantastic career. Everyone keeps saying no 13 yo has won it, he’s too old etc. Not me, he’s been dropped a good few pounds by the handicapper to gives him a real go at this and when the weights came out I lumped on ante-post at 25-1. The rain I think has arrived so it could be soft at the off, he has bags of stamina and if he thereabouts at the last fence the run in should bring about all his qualities. If he runs well he may stay in training too! Go on the old boy show ’em what you’re all about! My other selection in the race is the other Wylie horse PRINCE DE BEAUCHENE, he was favourite twice for this before injury and he has been looked after this year. Ruby rode such a gentle arc eon him at Thurles when he had every chance to win, I thought then I wonder what they are saving him for!

COURT MINSTREL 1710 AINTREE (NB) (WON – 16-1 = £50.00) this horse produced two fantastic runs under this jockey last year and is worth another chance. He beat SAMTEGAL easily last year and is dropped a couple of pounds, he has lots of weight to carry but for a reason, he’s the class horse in the race and is rated 8 lbs better than the next horse. If he’s on song he’ll murder them.

HINTERLAND 1405 AINTREE (TREBLE) – (unplaced = -£5.00) was running a cracker in the champion chase before being brought down, he may not of beaten Sire de Grugy but he would have been close. I think he’ll win this today, he looks a different horse this year, jumps smoothly and quickly, and will enjoy the ground. Great chance

WHISPER 1450 AINTREE – (WON – 4-1 = £12.50) we know the likes of At Fisher’s Cross and Zarkandar are very good but this horse has really impressed me this year and he appears to be very progressive. I think he’s got more improvement in him and could be the surprise package here outside the top two.

I also fancy a little flutter on GULLINBURSTI 1525 (3rd – 10-1) who ran an much improved race last time at Kelso of a big weight, with less in then saddle today and another bold show he can take this race too.

My Dad’s selections are :

LAC FONTANA 1330 (WON – 9-2 = £14.06)

BALDER SUCCES 1405 (WON – 7-2 = £10.94)

MELODIC RENDEZVOUS 1450 (unplaced = -£5.00)

RENARD 1525 (unplaced = -£5.00)



His national selections are TIDAL BAY and BALTHAZAR KING.

Current standings : FATHER 6-7 SON

Profit :

Father £67.42

Son £121.30

Good luck if you’re having a flutter!

