Sandown, Ripon and a Monster Scoop6


myWPEdit Image

The curtain comes down on another fantastic jumps season. My favourite part of the season has to be HOLYWELL winning again at the Cheltenham festival. Love that horse! Probably every man and his dog are having a go at the Scoop6 today with the forecast jackpot, to pick 6 winners in itself is a miracle, never mind with 90 odd runners covering the races, more chance of winning there lottery, but someone has to, I hope its me, my family or one of you twitter friends! Good luck!

I went to Ripon racecourse in the Easter break for the first time, its a beautiful little course and the photo above is of ROUDEE winning the first at that meeting. I’m opting for a few selections again there this afternoon. The weather is key today and there has been a lot of rain, as I type the blog, Ripon reports as being on the slow side of good, Sandown – good to soft, good in places and Haydock good to firm! A right mixed bag! Looking forward to two weeks today as I will be in Warwick for my annual jaunt there!

Here are my selections for today, with my dad’s too, I’m currently whooping his ass! Whatever you select today good luck!

PEARL ICE 1450 RIPON (NAP) – (unplaced -£5.00) Looked a decent horse a few years ago and has disappointed a little bit to be fair. However he is a course and distance winner here on good to soft beating BECKERMET off 90. He also won at Doncaster over this distance on good to soft also off 90. Has raced off a high mark of 98 and has now dropped to an appealing mark of 92. He is well drawn and the visor may sharpen him up. I think he has a cracking chance here! I watched BARKSTON ASH win here the other week and he did it well and he is a danger despite his low draw.

POLLY PEACHUM 1625 SANDOWN (NB) – (2nd – 100/30 = £2.08)this mare ran a cracker again last week at Cheltenham and she has won me a good bit of money from here last two runs. The ground is key to her success so I’m slightly concerned on that front and advise caution here. However, a mare in form is always worth following and she has been raised 15lbs for her win at Cheltenham. I still think she has more to offer to be honest and Barry Geragty was very positive about her chances too in his blog.

CAESAR MILAN 1730 SANDOWN – (TREBLE) (3rd – 4-1 = £2.50) this is a cracking little race and some good horses running. L’UNIQUE may well have had his form boosted if POLLY PEACHUM goes in again and is a worthy top weight. However, my selection has been given some sharp rises by the handicapper and I think rightly so as he is a decent prospect. Two wins on heavy were impressive and the tongues tie really sorted him out. He ran really well back in a Grade 3 at here behind BRAVE VIC. Both DOCTOR HARPER and BROTHER BRIAN have gone on to win again from this race and my selection has been raised another 3 lbs to 134, the same mark BROTHER BRIAMN now has. He has to have a chance although I would have preferred the ground a bit softer.

STIFF UPPER LIP 1405 SANDOWN – (unplaced = -£5.00) won very easily in a novice event at Towcester on Sunday and interestingly is chucked back in here off the same mark. He also won very well at Newbury earlier in the year destroying the field on heavy ground. A versatile horse that could be on the up. Worth a punt at a good price seen as some of the more favoured horses have question marks against them.

As for the BET365 Gold cup I think ROALCO DES FARGES has a great chance, he was second in this to TIDAL BAY two years again off a pound lower and the Scottish National was too far for him. That said I have to chance my arm with my old favourite OPENING BATSMAN, he has ran like a pig all year and the trainer doesn’t know why as he shows all his ability at home. He has been given blinkers to day to hopefully sharpen him up and the increased distance will also help too. This guy has bags of class but hasn’t fancied it, interestingly Nick Scholfield rung up wanting the ride when Fehily got off! IF, and its a big IF he runs to his form when he beat ROLLING ACES last year he has a cracking chance. Co-incidently he is back down to the mark he won that race off!!

My Scoop6 selections are :

Leg 1 – STIFF UPPER LIP

Leg 2 – SIR REGINALD

Leg 3 – PEARL ICE

Leg 4 – YOURARTISONFIRE

Leg 5 – MOIDORE

Leg 6 – OPENING BATSMAN



My Dad’s selections today are :

KELTUS 1405 SANDOWN (unplaced = -£5.00)

ARKDIILY WITNESS 1550 SANDOWN (unplaced = -£5.00)

CAESAR MILAN 1730 SANDOWN (3rd 4-1 = £2.50)

MY KINGDOM 1655 DONCASTER (WON 9-1 = £28.12)

Current standings – FATHER 7-8 SON

Profit – FATHER £68.04 SON £124.24

