Brigadier Gerard and Sandown


myWPEdit Image

I thought I would do a little mid week blog for a few I fancy at Haydock and Sandown. The Sandown meeting is always a good one with the annual running of the Brigadier Gerard Stakes. The bloody weather is playing havoc with the horses and the going at the moment. Lets hope the next week is dry ready for the Derby.

BONNIE GREY 1840 SANDOWN (NAP) – this is a cracking race! My selection was very impressive at Warwick in testing conditions. She hardly even broke sweat and the jockey never had to move a muscle, she could be very smart and this race will certainly be an indicator of that. Cock of the North ran very well in the Brocklesby and a repeat of that would see him go close. Via Via caught the eye when going away at Ripon and the form of ROUDEE was franked by MIDTERM BREAK on Saturday. An intriguing race!

BROWN PANTHER 1915 SANDOWN (NB) – I love this horse, he has got better and better over the last few years and he could be a high class Cup horse to follow. I think he will have too much for these today and his defeat of HILLSTAR at Chester was a good one. This trip will suit him and I think he’ll take this quite easily. I’m intrigued to see how MENORAH gets on!!!!

ANDERIEGO 1550 HAYDOCK (TREBLE) – this horse hasn’t won for a while now but he is on a very appealing mark. He has some form on soft ground and I just think there were signs of some sort of a revival the first run out this season and this softer ground may eek something out of him. If he puts his best foot forward this is a winning mark for him for sure!

RACE TO GLORY 1420 HAYDOCK – has run reasonably well in a couple a maiden races over 1m2f and this step up in trip should help and I think the ground will suit him more too. This trip takes some getting here especially on soft ground and I’m hopeful of a solid run.

