Derby Day


myWPEdit Image

myWPEdit Image



Derby Day today! What a cracking day of racing this is and I just hope the thunderstorms don’t spoil the going or the spectacle. I came very close last week to a big win on the blog with CLEVER COOKIE deadheading at 3-1 and then I had three seconds all beaten by hardly anything! BODY AND SOUL (17-2), SIRIUS PROSPECT (3-1) and ROYAL RASCAL (3-1).



Lets hope today brings a few winners and then its full steam ahead for Royal Ascot! I fancy quite a few horses across the meetings today but have picked 4 who I think have the best chance and the best odds for me! If you’re having a flutter good luck!



HYMENAIOS 1335 EPSOM (NAP) – (3rd – 5-1 = £3.12) this horse defeated CAPE CASTER at Doncaster in March and it won nice and convincingly and went into my notebook. CAPE CASTER has since won and franked the form. More importantly that day my selection had ROMSDAL comfortably beaten, and he’s supplemented for the derby today! Ignore the last run as the ground wasn’t ideal and I expect a much more positive showing today!



LATIN CHARM 1530 MUSSELBURGH (NB) – (unplaced = -£5.00) has travelled a fair distance to compete in this and he has pretty decent form in the book. Two runs this year have resulted in places with one or two of the others proving too good. Today is his day! One of his conquerors BLACK SCHNAPPS ran well the other week behind WRANGLER at Haydock and that form could prove decisive here. He’s 3 lb higher than that run but I really think he will win this today!



CASPIAN PRINCE 1515 EPSOM (TREBLE) – (WON 9-1 = £28.12) won here over this distance in in April on good to soft and has a good chance of repeating that from a decent draw. He’s albs higher now but for me the key is that Adam Kirby, who won on him in April, is up again, despite SEEKING MAGIC, who has a great chance too, running from the Cox yard. He must fancy this ones chances more and so do I. Cracking race though!



AZAGAL 1645 DONCASTER – (unplaced = -£5.00) I had this filly the other week when she won here in May. She is up 7lbs from that and was entered in a class 1 listed last time. She is not good enough at that level and returns to a more realistic grade today. The ground will be perfect for her and its forecast to have even more rain a tDoncaster which would help her. She could run a big race again at a ridiculous price. The top two in the market keep her price high and I think she will take this today. Kerching!!!!!



I haven’t included the big race in the blog but my selection is the following :



EBANORAN – (unplaced) people are questioning the form off the Derrinstown Trial but for me it always holds up. That day he hung badly right and was disqualified after the post. The camber of the track at Epsom will straighten him up and the extra two furlongs for me will bring out even more improvement . John Oxx is the other factor, he has sent there over for the Derby and two of those, SINNDAR and SEA THE STARS obliged. He obviously thinks this one is good enough and I’d love to see the Aga Khan’s colours win this again.



My Dad’s selections today are – (and he has some catching up to do!)



BLACK SHADOW 1335 EPSOM (2nd – £4.37)

ETON RIFLES 1515 EPSOM (NR)

KINGSTON HILL 1600 EPSOM (2nd – £4.68)

NOTARISED 1530 MUSSELBURGH (unplaced = -£5.00)



Current standings :

FATHER 7-12 SON



Profit – FATHER +£53.31

SON +£177.17



from £2.50 each way stakes on all selections.

