Royal Ascot Day One


I start the blog today with news that the horse I have a tiny share in won on his second race course start yesterday. SAKHEE'S RETURN won at a massive 20-1! Lets hope there is a lot more of those for the boy, this time next year he could be at Ascot!!!
 
Right, time to doff the hat, get the champers out and regail in our land – the royal meeting has arrived. A cracking spectacle of quality horses! I cant wait to watch this week and seeing what stories are made. Below are my day one selections – good luck to all.
 
QUEEN ANNE STAKES 1430

Toronado will be all the rage and rightly so with his form from last year, but 300 days off could leave him wanting and odds-on won't do it for me. I'm opting for SOFT FALLING RAIN (nb) who has always looked a class horse, the ground continuing to dry out will help his chances further and I think he'll run a huge race.
 
COVENTRY STAKES 1505

A Paul Hanagan/Al Maktoum double for me. ADAAY was very impressive when winning both starts at Newbury and Yarmouth. There will be more to come from this one and I think he can take this. Mr O'Brien has a decent record in this and War Envoy will be primed for a better run this time.
 
KINGS STAND STAKES 1545

SHEA SHEA (treble) deserves to win a race like this. He so nearly did last year before SOLE POWER wore him down on the line. I hope my boy will hold on this time with Soumillon in the saddle. HOT STREAK could run a cracker but will probably get Spencer'd and I'm fascinated to see how ES QUE LOVE runs over five!
 
ST JAMES' PALACE STAKES 1625

I backed KINGMAN in the Guineas and he just failed, he won the Irish equivalent easy and I think he will put NIGHT OF THUNDER in his place in this race. Nothing else to say – go champ!
 
ASCOT STAKES 1700

I'm not a big fan of these staying races other than the Gold Cup. Nicky Henderson always has to be feared in these, but I really don't fancy any of his. SIZZLER ran a few crackers last year and could be there at the end but I'm opting for VILLA ROYALE who ran so well last time at York and with the stable in form, could run a big race.
 
WINDSOR CASTLE STAKES 1735

This is a cracking end to the day. I really fancy MIDTERM BREAK (NAP) I watched him run at Ripon first time out and he looked a smart horse. He has since improved further and is proving to be a decent prospect. This is another big step up but one I think he can take. MERDON CASTLE could be the danger with form through KOOL KOMPANY.
 
GOOD LUCK ON DAY ONE EVERYBODY!
 
Leave a Reply

