King George Day


myWPEdit Image

Well what a complete wash out yesterday’s blog was! All four I chose in the morning as they preferred quicker ground, by the off Ascot had been hit with a storm of biblical proportions and the going had changed to good to soft! Bloody annoying! I faired better at York in the evening with a few nice winners, notably CELESTIAL PATH for Sir Mark Prescott who looks a decent type. The weather at York looks pretty sound and I don’t think Ascot will get any more rain but I can only see that just getting to good by the off. Should be a cracking day of racing ahead, so sit back and enjoy and hopefully there are are a few winners here. I will try and ensure I get a blog up for every day at Goodwood next week if I can.

TAGHROODA 1550 ASCOT (nap) – (WON 7-2 – = £10.93) 3 year olds have a poor record in his race and fillies have a non existent one! So why my selection do you ask? The answer, this girl is special! She has been so impressive every race and yes its a massive task to overcome some top colts but she can do it! She is in receipt of 15lbs from TELESCOPE which will help and the fact that Hanagan has jumped off a Coral-Eclipse winner faster than you can say Hamdan Al-Maktoum further solidifies my claim. It’s going to be a cracking race and records are there to be broken!

GOLDREAM 1530 YORK (nb) – (2nd – 12-1 = £7.50) this boy gave me a great win on the blog on 1000 Guineas day and I’ve been waiting for him to get his ground again. He wasn’t really fancied on Guineas day and produced a cracker and with ground excuses the last twice his 6lb raise is fair. He has two seconds to his name here a the Knavesmire and the step back up to 6 furlongs will help too. I’m very hopeful of another big run.

TOOFI 1555 NEWMARKET (treble) – (unplaced = -£5.00) he is dropping down from Listed and Group company to contest this Class 2 handicap and sometimes it’s worth following the big boys when they drop down. He has good form at the top level behind Coulsty and then also ran well in defeat to Magnus Maximus earlier in the season. He could be too good for these and he is currently a very good price. Time will tell.

PASTORAL PLAYER 1515 ASCOT (unplaced = -£5.00) this is my heart ruling my head! This horse has dropped to a very nice mark. It is on the back of a very barren run however! The Royal meeting showed it proved sensible to stick with high numbers in these races, but with the ground being a bit softer the near side can prevail. He is drawn trap one and has the likes of Field of Dream, Don’t Bother Me and Ayaar around him. The pace should be quick and it may set it up for him to burst through late. He has won here over 7f on good ground and is alb lower than that now, I’m hopeful more than anything but he does have a bit of class.

My Dad’s selection are :

BRONZE ANGEL 15515 ASCOT (unplaced = -£5.00)

DESERT SOCIETY 1625 ASCOT (unplaced = -£5.00)

WINDHOEK 1455 YORK (unplaced = -£5.00)

SEE THE SUN 1530 YORK (unplaced = -£5.00)

Standings

Father 9 – 14 Son

Father +£42.67

Son + £210.27

