The Coral Eclipse


myWPEdit Image

Last week was another decent week for the blog with good place money for the nap CHANCERY and third best ROYAL RASCAL. MIDNITE ANGEL won me an absolute packet and some times its important to follow these horses who drop down a grade or two as they usually romp in as she did last week. I’ve got a rather tidy profit of £194.98 to a £2.50 each way stake – hoping to break through the £200 marker today.

There are some cracking races today and personally I think the races at Haydock are more interesting than at Sandown, but its a good day, so lets sit back and enjoy.

PALLASATOR 1530 HAYDOCK (NAP)(2nd – 7-1 = £4.37) this horse will be fine with the ground and looked a strong staying type the season before last. The Prescott yard has just got going and he has thrown a couple of winners in this week so the horses seem to be fine after their setback. Sir Mark knows how to prepare one for these big handicaps and this fella could be another good type. I actually think the drop back in trip will suit him, if they ride him handy and look to kick for home from the turn not many will get past. He has guaranteed stamina and may get a soft lead and go on from there. Or that’s what I hope!

TALENT 1455 HAYDOCK (NB) – (3rd – 7-1 = £4.37) she won the Oaks last year in convincing style and was unlucky in the Leger. It looked like she needed the run in the Coronation Cup and she never really got going, this is a much easier contest and with that run in her, she should improve. She will relish the ground and I’m expecting a dominant run. SULTANINA is my danger, she ran very well when stepped up in class last time to Group 3 and battled well to win over course and distance. Great race this.

KINGSGATE NATIVE 1405 SANDOWN (TREBLE) – (2nd – 5-1 = £3.12) I’m a massive fan of this horse and he has run well on both his starts this season, showing the old sparkle is still there. He usually pops up with a win or two each year and after a few defeats in this I think today is his day. The firmer the better for him so I hope any more rain stays away, this old boy has class and at this level he could have too much for his rivals. STEPPER POINT has really returned to form this year and ran a cracker in the Kings Stand and should be thereabouts. STEPS was flying a few runs back and just missed out at Epsom; I think his day has past. EXTORTIONIST has ran two great races recently and could be a big danger to my boy.

TRUE STORY 1550 SANDOWN (unplaced = -£5.00) Kieren Fallon thinks a lot of this horse, and he’s a good judge for me base don what he has sat on! You cannot doubt the horses ability and with question marks over his last two runs I’m willing to give him another go here. The Epsom undulations didn’t really suit last time and if Fallon can start winding him up in this home straight he may get there at the line. This race will come to soon for The Fugue for me and fillies don’t have a great record in this, nor to 3 year olds for that matter!!! If the rain came I’d be willing to put a few shekels on TULIUS who has been running well this year. To be honest I’m loping forward to just watching this, it’s the best renewal of this race we have had for a good few years.

My cliff horse of the season BURANO goes again in the 1440 at Sandown and I have to give him a go.

There will be no blog next week as I’m in Edinburgh on a stag do! Should be fun but messy!

My dad’s selections are :

STEPS 1405 SANDOWN (unplaced – £5.00)

COMPLICATE 1420 HAYDOCK (unplaced -£5.00)

VELOX 1440 SANDOWN (WON – 11-2 = £17.18)

SALUTATION 1530 HAYDOCK (NR)

Standings

Father 9 – 13 Son

Profit

Father +£62.67

Son +£201.84

