A Soggy Saturday!


myWPEdit Image

The Bandit writes the blog from a very soggy, miserable Sheffield this morning and the ground at nearby Doncaster is going to be very testing. Not the greatest Saturday on the betting front I’ve seen and I know a few of my fellow twitterati are looking to opt pout today. However, jumps is my baby so I’ve had to have a look and hopefully I’ve found a few to whet the appetite ready for the first being meeting at Cheltenham next weekend. I always bet with my heart and have to follow the horses who I know have the class in the bag there are a few of those today, so please as always remember these are my thoughts and my horses that are close to me, so I’m not saying slap all your wages on them! I hope they run a good race and that we get a good cheer, potentially there are four decent winners here!

Sit back and enjoy the best you can on this dreary day!

OPENING BATSMAN 1440 WINCANTON (NAP) – (unplaced = -£5.00) this boy is a cliff horse for me and one I always keep an eye on and follow. To say he had a disaster last season is an understatement, yet here he is at a decent 12-1 in a competitive race, why not be a big outsider based on last year? Easy, he’s a class horse and his mark today is very eye-catching. The handicapper has given him a real chance today. He beat ROLLING ACES in the Racing Plus Chase the other year of a mark of 140 – so now you see! I just hope the rest over the summer and the cheekpieces have rekindled the old fire in his belly. Fehily will stoke him up if so!

JACK DEXTER 1425 DONCASTER (NB) – (unplaced = -£5.00) he won this race last year off a big penalty and comes here in form off the back of a veery good second on horrible ground to GORDON LORD BYRON at Ascot. He is also albs better off today with the second placed horse that day TROPICS. He also loves it here and will love the mud, and boy oh boy has it been raining here this morning! Has to have a super chance!

ROCK ON RUBY 1515 WINCANTON (TREBLE) – (3rd – 4-1 = £2.50) the star is back! A class horse in this sphere and proved that when getting beaten a head by THE NEW ONE at Aintree after a dismal showing when chasing earlier in the year. That form, plus his earlier hurdle form, is by far and away the best of offer here. He has to give lumps of weight away to IRVING but that one needs to prove he has it at this level, and I’m not sure he has it, especially based on his Cheltenham run.

POLLY PEACHUM 1405 WINCANTON – (WON 6-1 = £18.75) this one comes with a warning. She’s one I love and there are a few question marks against her today. That being the ground, she needs decent ground as you saw when she beat L’UNIQUE last year and was just pipped by SOUTHFIELD THEATRE, smart form you’ll agree! The weight she has to give away is the second question against her. However, she is a class mare and I have thought highly of her since I saw her demolish her rivals in a bumper at Warwick. Can she lug the weight? Yes, she’s going to be even better than her current mark suggests in my opinion, the ground is my sticking point today. She’s one for your notebooks though.

My Dad’s selections are :

HAWKEYETHENOO 1350 DONCASTER (NR)

TROPICS 1425 DONCASTER (unplaced = -£5.00)

STANDING OVATION 1450 WINCANTON (PU = -£5.00)

MELVIN THE GRATE 1605 DONCASTER (unplaced = -£5.00)

Standings after Week 2

Father 1-1 Son

Money Scores

Father -£16.73

Son £7.39

