The Hennessy Gold Cup


myWPEdit Image

Photo courtesy of Sporting Life

The twitter gamble last week didn’t fair to badly with @DazGilbert1’s selection Silviniaco Conti (100-30) and @Fernando_RFC2’s selection FLETCHER’S FLYER (11-10) winning. The guys have put up some more tips for today. See below and remember to give them a follow!

I was gobsmacked by how poorly UNCLE JIMMY ran last week, there had to be something amiss he was being pushed along from over a circuit out, interestingly he still stayed on at the end. TAQUIN DE SEUIL I feel needs to go back over hurdles after that showing, doesn’t look like a chaser to me, although he’ll probably go and win a big race now I’ve said that! AL FEROF (5-2) won for the Bandit on the blog and he was very impressive, I’m hoping the same connections do it for me today in the big one! My dad won last week on the profit front and takes a 2-1 lead. On to today and another cracking day with one of my favourite races of the season – The Hennessy. I was on good old Denman a few years ago when he defied top weight in one of the best performances I have ever seen, lets hope we get another cracking race today, and we should!

The Twitter Gamble Lucky 15 is :

@DazGilbert1 VOLT FACE 1315 TOWCESTER

@LiamKenniford FINGAL BAY 1500 NEWBURY

@Fernando_RFC2 HAMMERSLY LAKE 1350 NEWBURY

@Tonythe Tyke UT MAJEUR AULMES 1535 NEWBURY

On to The Bandit’s selections for today!

UNIONISTE 1500 NEWBURY (NAP) – The Bandit’s tradition is always to have a nap that has a bit of value. This guy has to have that at 16-1 as I write this. Not many horse in the past few years have won this a double figure odds but I reckon my selection has a real chance. Last year his defeat of WISHFUL THINKING at Aintree was smart and he is a pound lower in the ratings today, that could prove to be a very reasonable mark judged on the second’s performances since then. This fella goes well at this time of the year and he will love the ground. Generally he’s a tidy jumper and you need to be to stay this and win. He has had a wind operation which can really sort a horse out and while he will come on for the run the Nicholls string are firing at the minute. This horse for me is way better than his current mark suggests and I’m hoping he shows that today. FINGAL BAY could be his main opponent today, he stays all day and is a class horse. The way his yard are firing too has to make me put a few shekels on him too. Should be a bloody cracker!

DEFINITLY RED 1305 NEWCASTLE (NB) – this fella will go off favourite and at a short price but I have to put him in as I was so impressed how he went away from a decent bumper field last time at Cheltenham. He went straight on to my radar and this should be a stepping stone to greater things for him. One to watch for the season, I think he has the potential to be very good.

LIE FORRIT 1425 NEWCASTLE (TREBLE) – getting a bit long in the tooth but has always been a classy type. His defeat of NEPTUNE EQUESTER at Kelso in March is decent and his hurdle mark is far superior to his chase mark. He beat good old PIGEON ISLAND last time out to open his account of the sticks and has been raised 4lbs for that, not too harsh in my opinion. The ground shouldn’t be a problem and I’m hoping he shows improvement again today, this mark could be quite handy for him!

ALBERT BRIDGE 1350 NEWBURY – What an interesting runner this guy is! He has ran well on soft and heavy ground on the flat and has ran off a mark in the high 80’s in that sphere. Ran well and won last time in a maiden hurdle on soft ground at Plumpton. He is chucked in here today and could be anything and I like taking a punt on these types!

My Dad’s selections are :

EXITAS 1350 NEWBURY

THE DRUIDS NEPHEW 1500 NEWBURY

VICTORS SERENADE 1440 NEWCASTLE

ANQUETTA 1535 NEWBURY

Current Standings

Father 2-1 Son

Profit

Father -£12.26

Son £8.63

