Cheltenham and Donny (just!)


myWPEdit Image

We I must say I’m a tad disappointed by the racing on offer today. There are some class horses on show but the number of entries really is poor. Other than the big chase at Cheltenham there is not much handicapping which The Bandit loves to try and solve. However, beggars cannot be choosers and we still have the likes of Rock on Ruby, The New One and Caid Du Berlais on offer. One more week of work left to go before the big Xmas break, I’ve managed to get most of the old shopping done so can sit back and relax and enjoy the festivities.

The boys return for a twitter gamble this week, only one winner Lightening Rod me out of last week’s bet, but we remain ever hopeful!

The boys have opted for :

@LiamKenniford ROCK ON RUBY 1545 CHELTENHAM

@Fernando_RFC2 SEWN UP 1845 WOLVERHAMPTON

@DazGilbert1 CYFLYMDER 1425 SOUTHWELL

@TonytheTyke IKORODU ROAD 1340 DONCASTER

Here are my selections for today :

IKORODU ROAD 1340 DONCASTER (NAP) – (3rd – 7-1 = £4.37) has a decent record here and won in 2012 here beating JUNIOR off a mark of 131. Today he runs off 134, this being a previous winning mark and only a pound higher than his last success in October 2013. Hr has also had a couple of near misses here and while he can go better over further I think the ground will be really tacky today and play to his strengths. GRANDDADS HORSE did me a real favour last time at Ascot and gave me a tidy profit but he prefers better ground and I think he will struggle today giving my horse 5lbs.

ROCK ON RUBY 1545 CHELTENHAM (NB) – (WON – 5-4 = £3.90) what an old favourite this guy is. Ran in snatches last time over a trip a bit too sharp for him but he was still there trying to give more at the end. This is his race for the taking today, especially getting 5lbs from LAC FONTANA and he doesn’t have a penalty to carry for the first time in eons!!! Game on!!

SOLAR IMPULSE 1325 CHELTENHAM (TREBLE) – (PU = -£5.00) I have been really impressed with this horse this year, and he’s still only a baby yet! Ran well at Wetherby on good ground beating TURN OVER SIVOLA and then just found MONETAIRE too good last time on ground a little soft. Today he has slightly better ground and despite a 5lb rise I still think he has more to offer.

CAID DU BERLAIS 1400 CHELTENHAM – (PU = -£5.00) I honestly didn’t think he would have enough to win the Paddy Power but the more I look at that performance the more I like it. To beat JOHN’S SPIRIT in that manner and he is a damn good yard stick at Cheltenham was nothing but impressive and I think they have turned him out quickly again because they think they have a smart horse here. I tend to agree, this is very competitive too but he looks like he has more to offer and a 5lb rise may not stop him.

My Dad’s selections are :

NO BUTS 1400 CHELTENHAM (unplaced = -£5.00)

BLAKLION 1435 CHELTENHAM (WON 9-4 = £7.03)

LAC FONTANA 1545 CHELTENHAM (unplaced = -£5.00)

L’AIGLE ROYAL 1415 DONCASTER (3rd – 7-1 = £4.37)

Results

Father 3 – 2 Son

Profit

Father -£21.36

Son £8.90

