Trials Day at Cheltenham


We know we are not too far from the festival when trials day is upon us. We also have a the Skybet chase at Donny too! God I love NH racing! I hope you followed the blog last week as my fine form continued with a win for the nap REBEL REBELION at 12-1 and also a win for BITOFAPUZZLE at 5-2. I'm hoping to continue this run going again and think I've found a great nap and a couple of decent prices in the big handicaps! I'm sat doing the blog on a Friday night for a change ready to go out with some old work colleagues for a nice Italian. Tomorrow is a busy day as I'm in school most of the day for rehearsals for the school play – OUR DAY OUT so wont get chance to watch the races until I get home! Sadly I may have to miss the #twittergamble out this week as I may not get time to hear from the lads. If I did you'll see it below. Whatever you are sticking your well earned money on, good luck in our continuing battle with old enemy – the bookie!
 
#twittergamble selections
@Liamkenniford – Un Temps Por Tout 1535 Cheltenham
@Fernando_RFC2 – Vaule At Risk 1500 Cheltenham
@TonytheTyke – Garrahalish 1315 Cheltenham
@DazGilbert1 – Green Tornado 1620 Lingfield
 
VAGO COLLONGES 1500 CHELTENHAM (nap) – (3rd – 8-1 = £5.00)
This fella really has some smart form in the bag! His season started with a defeat by THOMAS BROWN who has since franked the form with a victory and is now rated 6lbs better than my selection. THOMAS BROWN was defeated prior to his win by OUT SAM from the Henderson yard, who has since gone on to win again! Even more interestingly third in that race that day, behind THOMAS BROWN was a certain TEA FOR TWO who then went on to win two on the bounce including the demolition of the field in the Lanzarote. Told you it was smart form didn't I! My guy has also been ultra-consistent in all his runs and has been knocking at the door and could take a race like this. Bring it on! He's 7-1 as I type this!
 
NIGHT IN MILAN 1515 DONCASTER (nb) – (3rd – 12-1 = £7.50)
Loves it here, and ran so well when a narrow second, by a head, to one of my old favourites GRANDADS HORSE here last time. My guy was 5lbs worse off in the weights that day and they reoppose here with only a pound difference! Effectively he's 4lbs better off. He is also better off in the ratings too, my guy has been raised 2lbs to a mark of OR146, whereas his old nemesis was raised 6lbs for his win to a mark of OR145. It's tight and there are some other smart horses too, but I reckon my guy has it today, he's a better horse than when pulled up in this last year and I'm hopeful of a big run
 
BIG FELLA THANKS 1425 CHELTENHAM (treble) – (2nd – 25-1 = £15.62)
This guy is on such an appealing mark I have to have a bet on him! He has been a real star over the years and is in his twilight yet he still has ability. He has dropped to a mark of OR135, that is a full 10lbs lower than his last winning mark. You may say this is because he is in decline. For me though he's just been up against top horses and on a tough mark. He ran well in behind the likes of MA FILLEULE, TRANQUIL SEA and CHANCE DU ROY last year. He was also beaten by my selection PACHA DU POLDER a few years back in a hot race, that was off a mark 19lbs higher than this. He is also racing off a decent weight below 11 stone too and this could be his day!
 
BLACK RIVER 1315 CHELTENHAM – (unplaced = -£5.00)
This guy has flattered to deceive so far, yet I have to stick with him as I beleive he is such a talented horse and exciting prospect and this track may bring out the best in him. I'm putting last time down to awful ground as I think it really was bottomlesss that day. He runs off the same mark today and has to have a good shout in a competitive race. He did beat VAUTOUR as a juvenile! Game on!
 
My Dad's selections are :
 
 
Standings
Father 5-6 Son
Profit
Father -£31.07
Son £179.49
 
Leave a Reply

