Newbury and Warwick


Good evening everyone! Yep I'm doing the blog on Friday night as tomorrow I am at my school again doing the final dress rehearsal for our performance of Our Day Out next week. I'm hoping Warwick survives the chill as I have two selections there tomorrow! It has been a tough week for the Bandit and the family this week. On Sunday I had to take our beloved cocker spaniel Freddie to the vet to be put down. It came so quick, on Saturday he had started to breath a little funny and cough as if he had something stuck in his throat. It got worse on Sunday and we found a large tumour in his mouth/throat. The vet thought it was cancerous and he was struggling to breath. Broke my heart doing it but I couldn't let him be in pain. Rest in peace little fella!
 
The photo for the blog is courtesy of Fran @Riosrider2 again. Give her a follow!
Last week was a complete shocker for my selections too, I was quietly confident of a few of them and couldn't believe how poorly they ran. To be fair the ground was shocking but I can't make excuses my horses just weren't good enough. Saturday is a cracking card at Newbury and the racing at Warwick is decent too. The festival beckons everyone! Whatever you are backing tomorrow with your well earned cash – good luck! Lets hope we take a step closer to beating the old foe!
 
The twitter gamble boys have opted for the following tomorrow – their big gamble will land soon!
 
@Tonythetyke Nightline 1300 Warwick
@DazGilbert1 Barters Hill 1640 Newbury
@Fernando_RFC2 Vibrato Valtat 1405 Warwick
@LiamKenniford Milan bound 1350 Newbury
 
Here are my selections :
 
SIGN OF VICTORY 1535 NEWBURY (nap)
Won first time out this year at Ascot more or less on the bridle and he looked very smart. He was then pitched in a little too deep amd was put in his place, but finished a creditable fourth, to FAUGHEEN. He has to carry alot of weight in the race, but he has that because of what he has shown. The form of his Ascot race has swung it for me. He beat DAWALAN that day who has since gone on and won twice and looks decent. BARADARI finished third that day and he obliged the other week. You can even go further down the field at Ascot that day day and find KILCOOLEY who rompted home at Haydock too. I like to find a decent priced horse in a competitive race and I think I have found it for tomorrow. He's probably better than this and will shown it tomorrow for my money.
 
BALGARRY 1535 NEWBURY
With Sign of Victory now a non-runner I will go for this fella to come up trumps in this race. He ran so well last time after such a long lay off last time and he may now step up today.
 
CONEYGREE 1425 NEWBURY (nb)
This fella just keeps impressing me, and he seems to get better and better. He has been raised a further 6lbs for his last success to a mark of OR153. That is still a little less than some of his rivals in this and he needs to improve again to trouble HOUBLON DES OBEAUX and UNIONISTE. My guy travels so well in his races though and hasn't put a foot wrong. My question against the other two is whether the ground is soft enough for them. I'm hoping my guy jumps with the same zest and enthusiasm again and he'll give them a good run. Cracking little race.
 
UNCLE JIMMY 1335 WARWICK (treble)
On of my old favourites! He won the Pertempts Qualifier here last year when I napped him on the blog beating GRAND VISION. He returned this season with an impressive defeat of SOUND INVESTMENT at Newton Abbott and followed that up with a second to PECKHAMECHO at Aintree. Interestingly ROLLING MAUL was well down the field that day and he went on to win well at Cheltenham on New Year's Day. He will like te ground and should make the transition to the bigger obstacles. He ran a stinker last time in November over hurdles and I find it really interesting that they have used that time to prep him for fences and not stick to hurdling.
 
DORMOUSE 1625 WARWICK
He has won 3 out of 6 here at Warwick and put in a grand show when defeating REGGIN PERRIN at Lingfield in November. Has flattered to deceive a little since but his marked has dropped back to OR118 and the jockey booking of Paul Townend really catches my eye. His mark has fluctuated between OR115 to OR120 over the past year and his mark is doable and he has carried big weight to success in the past.
 
My Dad's selections are :
 
Standings
Father 6-6 Son
Profit
Father -£42.32
Son £159.49
 
Leave a Reply

