Kempton and Newcastle


So, the blog returns after an unscheduled week off. I cannot put into words how dreadful I felt last week after a night on the town. It took me until about 6pm to come around! It really is devil’s brew! So onto the horses with the magnificent festival getting ever closer on the horizon. I will do a blog everyday for the festival and do a piece on every race. The superb photo above is courtesy of Fran, give her a follow @Riosrider2. I’ve had a good study of the races today and hopefully have found a few little beauties who I think have a great chance. I have to apologise to one of the #twittergamble boys – @Tonythetyke tipped a winner last week and of course with me being incapacitated it didnt get on here! Sorry mate – hopefully you’ll win today. The #twittergamble is below :
 
@Tonythetyke – FILL THE POWER 1455 NEWCASTLE
@Fernando_RFC2 – LONG JOHN 1645 CHEPSTOW
@LiamKenniford – LE REVE 1545 KEMPTON
@DazGilbert1 – FOGGYS WALL 1620 KEMPTON
 
Here are my selections for today
 
LANDSCAPE 1620 KEMPTON (nap) (PU = -£5.00)
As always I try and find a decent priced nap. This guy was one of my horses to follow a couple of seasons ago when with Paul Nicholls. I put him up here on the blog when he ran at Haydock in March 2013 off a mark of OR130. He coasted up that day in a class 2 with 11 stone 4lb on his back and fell at the last flight when he would have won easily. I was surprised he got sold by the Nicholls team and he had a long absence before pulling up and then came back after another absence in January and needed the run badly. He is running off a very appealing mark today of OR125 he won’t mind the ground at all and if he’s fit, which I think he will be, rhe should run a cracker! I’ve been waiting for this guy to come back for ages! Today is the day!
 
WOODFORD COUNTY 1455 NEWCASTLE (nb) (3rd – 14–1 = £8.75)
Won well for this rider at Newbury in November of a mark of OR125 and then travelled ok when fancied for the Coral Welsh National. That ground really was terrible that day and it really took it toll on horses, my guy included. To say he finished and kept going shows he has stamina and with a return to better ground off the same mark he ran off in the Welsh National he has to have a great chance. He was touted as a smart horse and that’s not going to have changed after one ropey run. The claimers allowance will really help over this distance too and I expect him to be staying on when others a faultering. I hope ALPHA VICTOR decides to have an off day as I think he could be the main danger after a promising run behind JOIN THE CLAN at Wetherby last time.
 
TAP NIGHT 1545 KEMPTON (treble) (UR = -£5.00)
This fella hasnt won for ages and ran at Aintree a couple of seasons ago off a mark of OR145. He has slowly come down the handicap and runs today off the same mark (OR130) when he ran eye catching well behind ANNACOTTY and my selection that day BIG FELLA THANKS. I watched him and thought next time! He here is off a feather weight with Dickie Johnson on board. He could make a mockery of this today, I just hope he reproduces what he did at Cheltenham last time, if he does he has a great chance!

TOP OF THE GLAS 1400 KEMPTON (unplaced = -£5.00)
This fellawasnt too bad on the flat and beat the likes of COULSTY last year and also INTRANSIGENT. He has been a little unlucky in his races and his trainers rates him as a good prospect. This is a big step up but I give him a squeak and he could be one to watch.
 
My Dad’s selections are :
 
MELODIC RENDEZVOUS 1435 KEMPTON (unplaced = -£5.00)
RENARD 1545 KEMPTON (unplaced = -£5.00)
KNOCKANRAWLEY 1455 NEWCASTLE (4th – 10-1 = £6.25)
AWAYTHEGREYS 1610 CHEPSTOW (unplaced = -£5.00)
 
Standings
Father 6-7 Son
Profit
Father -£51.07
Son £153.24
 
Leave a Reply

