Sandown


So, the final blog before the festival! Cant wait for Tuesday and I will be doing a blog every day for the festival. I will make sure I post the blog the night before for everyone to have a read – I hopeful of a few winners. I've picked out a few who I fancy – HOLYWELL (of course!), POLLY PEACHUM, MA FILLUELE being a couple. Before I start the serious study we have the Imperial Cup to tackle today and a few decent races at Wolverhampton. If my four come in today I will have a right kitty for the week, they are decent prices and I expect good runs! Thanks to Fran (@Riosrider) for the photo for the blog again. Below is the #twittergamble for the boys, we'll do one of these for each day of the festival too.
 
#Twittergamble
@Tonythetyke – WHISTLE DIXIE 1545 SANDOWN
@Liamkenniford – AIGLE DE LA SEE 1400 SANDOWN
@Fernando_RFC2 – CHOOKIE ROYALE 1415 WOLVES
@DazGilbert1 – BALLYHEIGUE BAY 1435 SANDOWN
 
Here are my selections :
GASSIN GOLF 1510 SANDOWN (nap) (3rd – 25-1 = £15.62)
Came second in this last year and is 11lbs higher than that today. I'm putting a line through his last run at Ascot in the Ladbroke, he never got in the race and was rightly pulled up. Interestingly despite how terrible that run was the handicapper hasn't reduced his mark, he knows he's a better horse than that as do I! Dickie Johnson rides him and he wouldn't be on him if he didn't think he had a sniff. Dickie's record on him is 2,2,3,4,2,2. He was a decent horse on the flat for Sir Mark Prescott and he's a horse I've tracked. He has a race like this in him! He has yet to score over hurdles but I do think he's smart and the better ground will help today. I'm expecting a big run!

CHIDSWELL 1400 SANDOWN (nb) (unplaced = -£5.00)
Has been performing consistently well and is very interesting on his handicap debut. His trainer also has a decent record with handicap debutants. He has been beaten twice in novice events, the last one was a decent contest and he was beaten by a smart sort in CLEAN SHEET. Who on the back of that has beengiven a mark of OR135. He could run a big race at a good price.

AL THAKIRA 1415 WOLVERHAMPTON (treble) (3rd – 4-1 = £2.50)
She has decent form at 7f and ran well on a few occasions last year. She needs to be ridden patiently and she may need a bit of luck. She has the proven class in the race and has a good record fresh. I think she will have too much for these today.

COPPER KAY 1545 SANDOWN (Unplaced = -£5.00)
This is hot little race and a lot of money is going on the top two. My selection justified favouritism last time at Warwick in a nice little contest and there will be more to come from her. The form hasn't been franked but I liked what I saw that day and think she will run well at a decent price.
 
My Dad's selections are:
AS DE MEE 1400 SANDOWN (WON 8-1 = £25.00)
FASCINO RUSTICO 1510 SANDOWN (PU = -£5.00)
WHISTLE DIXIE 1545 SANDOWN (unplaced = -£5.00)
MELVIN THE GRATE 1450 WOLVERHAMPTON (unplaced = -£5.00)
 
Standings
Father 8-7 Son
Profit
Father -£42.64
Son £158.61
 
Leave a Reply

