QIPCO 2000 GUINEAS


Photo courstesy of Sporting Life
 
I can't believe how quickly the first classic has come upon us! The flat season really does start proper with the guineas weekend and then Chester and York coming up pretty quickly afterwards!this is why I love the flat at this time of year – its quality racing after quality racing. I'm resetting my competition with my dad today – in the NH season he beat me in terms of winning weeks but I had more profit than him. Honours even? Sit back and enjoy the racing today – I hope I've found a couple of big priced handicappers amongst an old favourite!
 
Here are my selections :
 
KINGSGATE NATIVE 1430 NEWMARKET (nap) (3rd – 8-1 = £5.00)
Old Father time is catching up with this guy but he remains a huge favourite of mine. He always runs a solid race and still has a touch of class. He runs off the same mark of OR107 as his last run and win and he has come second in this race for the last two years behind SOLE POWER. Two years ago off this mark too. There is nothing of SOLE POWER'S ability against him today and my guy will love the fast ground and he has a great record first time out with runs of 1,2,2,2.

DEEDS NOT WORDS 1525 GOODWOOD (nb) (unplacec = -£5.00)
A decent performer at best but he has dropped down to a handy mark and back to his last winning mark of OR88. He will appreciate the ground and the stablehave sent out an odd winner or two. He could surprise a few of these and run a big race at a big price
 
HIGHLAND COLORI 1450 GOODWOOD (treble) (3rd – 14-1 = £8.75)
I put this fella up on the blog a few weeks ago and despite being nicely positioned he faded at the end. He is still on avery appealing mark and the drop back to 7f will suit. I'm going to give him another go today, he has been far better than his mark suggests and I'm hoping for a revival. PASTORAL PLAYER is a horse I jumped off a cliff with but has been on a long losing run and I can't select him today but he is also on a hell of a mark.
 
CELESTIAL PATH 1545 NEWMARKET (unplaced = -£5.00)
I backed this horse when he won first time out at York last year and then he followed it up cosily in a Listed race at Haydock. He really does have a touch of class and will love this quicker ground. He has to improve on his Racing Post Trophy third but he hated the ground thst day and stillfinished third behind ELM PARK. Sir Mark Prescott knows how to get a handicapper ready but he hasn't had a 2000 Guineas runner ever! He wouldn't run himif he didnt think he was good enough thoughand I think he has a brilliant each way chance. I also think IVAWOOD could win this, he was class last season and despite an under par performance last time the run will have done him a world of good. He still has all the ability and will run a big race.
 
My Dad's selections are :
LUSTROUS 1415 GOODWOOD (unplaced = -£5.00)
ONLINE ALEXANDER 1430 NEWMARKET (unplaced = -£5.00)
IVAWOOD 1545 NEWMARKET (3rd 10-1 = £6.25)
RED REFRACTION 1450 GOODWOOD (unplaced = -£5.00)
 
Standings
Father 0-1 Son
Profit
Father -£8.75
Son £3.75
Leave a Reply

