QIPCO 1000 Guineas


Photo courtesy of Sporting Life
Didnt have too much to shout about on the blog yesterday but thought KINGSGATE NATIVE ran well in third and that HIGHLAND COLORI ran much better and showed the spark is still there. CELESTIAL PATH ran a cracker in the Guineas from a disadvantaged draw and was really moving in the dip. He’s certainly one to watch at Royal Ascot! On to the ladies today and I had a cracking day this time last year with both the MIGHTY YAR and then GOLDREAM (25-1) winning on the blog. I’m hoping I’ve got a few again here. Good luck with whatever you’ve selected, sit back and enjoy and then we’re off to Chester next week! Love that meeting!
 
GOTHIC 1350 NEWMARKET (nap)
He has always looked a decent horse to me and despite wins with cut in the ground I think the quicker ground today will really suit him. He ran possibly his best race at Ascot on quick ground off the same mark as today. His run at Pontefract will have sharpened him up a bit and I’m expecting a winning run from him today.
 
RUWAIYAN 1500 NEWMARKET (nb)
I tiiped up GOLDREAM in this last year and I’m hopeful I’ve found another decent priced winner. SECRETINTHEPARK had solid C+D form and has won this and ran well last year. Despite moving to the yard that won this last year and will the beforementioned he’s a pound higher than his 6th last year and I dont think he’ll win. BLAINE found his old form ladt year and he has a sniff but he may be handicapped to his best. My selection isn’t though and I think he can go onto bigger things. He ran really well in the group 3 Chipchase Stakes at Newcastle last year behind DANZENO and followed thst up with a 2L fourth in the Stewards Cup. That is smart form and this quicker ground and better draw will help today! There is plenty of pace around him and I can see Hughesie striking late on him.
 
RIZEENA 1425 NEWMARKET (treble)
This is a cracking race! FINTRY has decent form but couldn’t beat INTEGRAL here last time, and she folded a bit tamely for me. BELLE D’OR is interesting and she could improve lots this year and the step up should help too. I have to opt for RIZEENA though, she has the group one form to bring and despite a disappointing three year old campaign she still has class and ran well in her last outing. She has a question mark anout the trip but I think she’ll get it.
 
LOCAL TIME 1540 NEWMARKET
With a couple of noteful absentees this race isnt as hot as it should be! Despite the poor ride on TIGGY WIGGY last time I still can’t see her staying a mile. She’s built for speed pure and simple. OSAILA has had a fair few miles on the clock but she has a solid chance today as does JELLICLE BELL who caught the eye last time. I’m opting for LOCAL TIME, while she has to improve for her MEYDAN successes she has the potential and is bang in form. She also beat a few types here in the Oh So Sharp Stakes last season and I think she’ll like this quicker ground. James Doyle has ridden her in her last four wins and I expect a boldshow again today.
 
I also like the chances of SWNYMOR 1445 HAMILTON, WILLIAM OF ORANGE 1405 SALISBURY and NAMHROODAH in the Pretty Polly!
 
Leave a Reply

