Temple Stakes – Haydock and others


 
Photo by Julian Herbert/Action Images
 
So I return to the blog after a week off. Last week I ventured to Donny races for their evening meet followed by The Human League in concert afterwards. It was a great day all round with three winners and a good time had by all! Sunday was a different matter however! I had the worst hangover I have had in a long time! On to the horses, my dad has got off to a flying start and he had four very profitable selections a few weeks ago, as for me, enough said at the minute! I struggled to pick my nose last time! As always I'm realistic, sometimes you win, alot of the time you lose!! I'm always prepared to celebrate the successes and lick my wounds in defeat! Hopefully I will have a change of luck today. Good luck to you all whatever you're on!
 
HOT STREAK 1545 HAYDOCK (nap) (Unplaced = -£5.00)
Won this last year off a 4lb higher mark. The surface is key for him and with a bit of cut in the ground he will be hard to peg back. His win as a three year old in this last year shouldn't be underestimated and with a solid return last time he is set up ready to roll. I expect a huge run today, lump on! My old mate KINGSGATE NATIVE ran a cracker last time behind his stablemate and he will be thereabouts again. He's worth a saver!
 
POOLE HARBOUR 1500 CATTERICK (nb) (unplaced = -£5.00)
Had a nightmare season last year with Dandy Nicholls, and he comes with risks attached. He really interests me on his first run for Karl Burke on ground he will love. He is running off a mark of OR80, which he has won off before, and was running off a mark of OR95 last year, so he has an attractive mark for me. He's drawn near some pace and is a big price for this class of handicap. I just hope he returns to his old form, if he does he could walk this.
 
MY DREAM BOAT 1455 GOODWOOD (treble) (unplaced = -£5.00)
I picked this horse last week at Donny. He's well bred for better ground and he absolutely hosed up. There was definitely more in the tank and despite a 8lb rise in his mark to OR84 he looked very good last week and there should be more improvement. My only reservation as my good friend @Pirate_B pointed out is that the jockey has yet to win for this trainer! I'm optimistic though and hope that what I saw last week was a decent horse on the upgrade.
 
GO DAN GO 1435 HAYDOCK (unplaced = -£5.00)
This guy is really progressing quickly and I know he has to step up again but he is capable of it I think, especially on this softer surface. He has been running well all year and his success at Beverley was franked yesterday will the second going in. It's a big step up but his trainer is getting more talented and becoming very shrewd at placing his horses! A definite big each way shout.
 
My Dad's selections are:
Gabrial's King 1400 Haydock (Unplaced = -£5.00)
Mutarakez 1435 Haydock (Won 2-1 = £6.25)
Lastuce 1510 Haydock (unplaced = -£5.00)
Hot Streak 1545 Haydock (unplaced= -£5.00)
 
Standings
Father 2-1 Son
Profit
Father £34.02
Son – £36.25
 
A couple of extras I like today are –
SECRET WITNESS 1640 GOODWOOD
ALBERT BRIDGE 1400 HAYDOCK
 
and @Pirate_B likes the look of RED CHARMER 1700 Beverley!
 
Leave a Reply

