Betfair Chase


After a crackingweek at Cheltenham last week the National Hunt bandwagon rolls on with the showpiece chase of the day : The Betfair Chase. I always remember how awesome Kauto Star was in this when he won it for the final time, he murdered them in a performance that will always stay with me, he was magnificent that day! Only one winner for the blog last week in COPPER KAY, but she looks like one to follow this year. A few nice handicaps today to watch aswell as the big event. Good luck if you're having a flutter!
 
MIJHAAR 1425 HAYDOCK (nap)

I've kept saying that this fella has a race like this in him. He's still on a very attractive mark for me and ran ok last time at Cheltenham. He travels really well but they seem to just get away from him. I think this softer ground and the track will suit him and stop that happening. These fixed brush hurdles will test their jumping but my guy is due to go chasing soon and should be able to cope. He is a huge price but is a smart horse and I think today is the day. I also like the chances of DEFINITLY RED, who has decent track form and looked a smart type last year, he made need the run.
 
ROCK ON RUBY 1440 ASCOT (nb)

Didnt do bad in his reappearance and this drop back down in trip won't cause any issues. He has to give 8lbs to Brother Tedd but he is used to doing this and the stiff turn for home will suit my guy better. It's a shame the ground is soft for the returning to form COURT MINSTREL, but I don't think he will go in ground this tacky.
 
HOLYWELL 1500 HAYDOCK (treble)

This is my heart speaking over my head, however he needed the run big time in the Charlie Hall and he is too big a price for me to ignore. He was second in this race the other year and we all know how much he stays in at times in these marathon trips. He doesnt like it too soft but his heart and battling qualities will give him a sniff over the final couple of fences. If his jumping is fluid he will be there at the end.
 
FAGO 1515 ASCOT

This horse looked decent as a novice a few years agobut his jumping let him down. He has got better with that and I'm interested to see how he runs dropped back in trip on this stiffer track. He will appreciate the ground and could do this very easily, or balls it up and fall.
 
My Dad's selections are :
 
BEAU LAKE 1210 HAYDOCK
GUNNER FIFTEEN 1315 HAYDOCK
TEA FOR TWO 1425 HAYDOCK
ROYAL PALLADIUM 1535 HAYDOCK
 
PLACINGS
FATHER 1-1 SON
PROFIT/LOSS
Father – £9.39
Son -£4.07
 
Leave a Reply

