Warwick


Photo : Sportinglife.com
 
Well it really is a wet weekend and will be a gruelling test for all these horses today. Make sure you select one that loves this ground and has bags of stamina. A pretty quiet weekend of races as we start the Cheltenham build up, with trials day not far away. This pertempts hurdle race has brought me a few successes and pointers in recent years. In 2013 it's where I HOLYWELL jumped into my notebook for when I backed him at the festival when he won at 33-1 on the blog. I have also had the last two winners of the race with UNCLE JIMMY and JOIN THE CLAN. Click the names for each blog on these races and to read my write ups. Let's hope I can keep the run going!!
 
FLINTHAM 1425 WARWICK (nap)
I'm pinning my hopes on this fella keeping my record going in this race! He is a full brother to CARRUTHERS and a half brother to Gold Cup winner CONEYGREE; he will therefore enjoy the ground and the battle. He was developing into a smart proposition last year with wins at Chepstow and Ascot. He has looked a little out of sorts so far but he should be fit and the trainer interestingly has opted for this rather than the novice chase, he must have Cheltenham on hid radar therefore! He has a big weight but is used to carrying well over 11 stone, he is very good hence his weight. My worry is it is too much to carry so I've also had a wager on HOWABOUTNEVER who has 10 stone 9lbs on his back and the apprentice takes a fuurther 10lbs off.
 
RED DEVILS LAD 1535 WARWICK (nb)
I backed this guy last week when he unseated early in the Welsh National. Prior to that he had been a sound jumper and he will love the ground with two wins already on heavy. The question mark is the trip but I think he'll get it. He also has the excellent Sean Bowen on board. A cracking price too.
 
DEFINITLY RED 1350 WARWICK (treble)
 
BLACK HERCULES is a smart horse but he's always run poorly over here and he's never been an odds-on shout. SILSOL ran a cracker behind SEEYOUATMIDNIGHT last time, and with the form franked, plus the ground he has a great chance. My guy though has always looked a top horse in his bumper and hurdle days last year. Interesting how the yard waited for softer ground and a lottle race at Catterick to get his chasing career underway. He ran well there and I think he has a great chance here.
 
BIG JIM 1315 WARWICK
He's been running over a greater trip than this therefore has the required stamina in the bag. He will love the ground and ran well last time with 11stone 12lbs on his back. He carries a full 21lbs less today!! Great chance!
 
My Dad's selections are :
HOWABOUTNEVER 1425 WARWICK
FINAL NUDGE 1500 WARWICK
DIVINE PORT 1440 WETHERBY
FOXBRIDGE 1535 WARWICK
 
PLACINGS
FATHER 2-4 SON
PROFIT/LOSS
Father – £64.34
Son -£29.04
 
Leave a Reply

